#insidestory awards are back for 2017

#insidestory awards 2017


We are excited to announce the #insidestory awards categories for 2017. This is the fifth year of the awards. Each year they have evolved. This year we have overhauled the criteria to make it clearer what’s required for each category. We have also renewed the whole entry process. We’ve worked with a partner to make this process simple to follow and administer for you and the judging panel.

New categories

The categories have been reviewed. We’ve retained the popular categories, brought back international and created a new ‘Internal communication campaign’ category that gives you a different option if your work is not in support of a change or employee engagement programme specifically. There is also a new Special Judges award which each entry will be entered into automatically. The winner of this award will be decided upon by the panel of judges with a focus on best practice, use of measurement and results achieved.

We’ve revised the sub categories too to give a fair playing field and split the big categories to work better for entrants.

See the Awards 2017 page for all the categories.

Nomination categories

A big change that we have made is to make both the Clare Latham award and the Future leader award nomination categories. We realise that most internal comms folk don’t tend to shout about their good work or put themselves in the limelight. But we all know some fantastic individuals who deserve credit. So we’re following the success of last year’s nominations with the Clare Latham award and introducing this approach with the Future Leader award too.

Making the grade

In addition to the category changes we have completely overhauled our criteria. It is clearer, more rigorous and in line with the CIPR Excellence awards criteria.

These awards are hard won and well deserved.

Last year we trialled a judging day with the Future Leader category and it really added to the debate and judging process.

So this year we are introducing a judging day for everyone who is shortlisted for the Best in-house team, Best agency, Clare Latham award and the Future leader. This will give our judges the opportunity to meet you in person, and for you to give them more detail about your work and demonstrate why you are winners.

A new process for entries

Until this year we’ve taken entries on email. This was manageable when we started out, but as the awards grow and more entries are received we needed to find a better way to manage the process. We are using a system that is used for CIPR Excellence and PRide awards.

The new system for uploading your #insidestory award entries is NOW LIVE



Key information

Key dates

  • 30 November 2016 – Standard entry deadline and nomination for Clare Latham and Future Leader deadline (by 18:00 )
  • 14 December 2016 – Late entry deadline and second stage for Clare Latham and Future Leader deadline (by 18:00 )
  • 15 December 2016 – any payments on invoice must be completed for entry to be accepted
  • Week commencing 9 January 2017 shortlist announced
  • 16 January 2017 shortlisted interviews at CIPR HQ
  • 27 January 2017 Party early bird ticket deadline
  • 23 February Party 2017 – venue to be announced soon

Payment and fees

  • Standard: £95 +VAT (Multiple entry discounts apply. One entry £95, two entries £160.00, three entries £240.00)
  • Entries submitted after 18:00 GMT on Wednesday 30 November 2016 will be charged the late entry fee of £150 +VAT. (Multiple entry discounts apply. One entry £150.00, two entries £270.00, three entries £405.00 )
  • Late entries will be accepted until 18:00 GMT on Wednesday 14 December 2016.

Payment options

  • Payment can be made by debit or credit card via the online entry form.

Note: The CIPR does not accept American Express.

  • Payment can also be arranged via invoice – please ensure you include a PO number on the entry form if your organisation requires one on invoices.

Invoices must be paid in full by 17:00 GMT on Thursday 15 December 2016 or entries will be withdrawn.

It is free to nominate and enter the Clare Latham and Future Leader awards.

All submitted entries will be automatically entered into the Judges Special Award category.

Submissions from the public sector or not-for-profit sector can be included the public sector category free of charge when they enter any other paid category.


To read the full list of categories pricing and payment click here

To read the full criteria breakdown click here

To see the rules of entry click here


Updated with admin system links Friday 14 October

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *